Postmarketing Surveillance of Full Spectrum Hemp Extract CBD Products: Reported Adverse Events and Serious Adverse Events
LandMark Medical, Buffalo, NY USA
https://ror.org/01yk47434grid.507977.b0000 0004 7826 7872Charlotte’s Web, Louisville, CO USA
https://ror.org/02fvywg07grid.416498.60000 0001 0021 3995Massachusetts College of Pharmacy and Health Science, Boston, MA USA
grid.530763.4Health, Education and Research, Driggs, ID USA
Abstract
Background
There is a growing interest in products featuring hemp extracts and a demand for more data regarding their safety. To date, there is a paucity of published data on the safety of these products.
Methods
A retrospective analysis of postmarketing surveillance data collected in the United States on full spectrum hemp extract (FSHE) products manufactured by Charlotte’s Web (CW) was conducted over an 18-month period (January 2019 to July 2020). The frequency of adverse events (AEs) and serious adverse events (SAEs) was assessed by analyzing AE reports against the estimated number of consumers who purchased products and the total number of products sold.
Results
During the 18-month period, approximately 646,391 consumers purchased 1,939,172 products and 431 AEs were reported by 304 individuals. The estimated percentage of consumers who reported at least one adverse event was 0.05%. The percentage of AEs per products sold was 0.02%. Most AEs (98.14%) reported were Grade 1 (i.e., asymptomatic or causing mild symptoms), as classified by the Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events. Seven AEs were classified as serious, and the percentage of SAEs per products sold was 0.0004%. None of the reported SAEs were classified as a Grade 4 or Grade 5 (i.e., life threatening or fatal).
Conclusions
Approximately 0.05% of consumers who purchased the CW FSHE products from January 2019 to July 2020 reported an adverse event. The percentage of AEs and SAEs per products sold was 0.02% and 0.0004%, respectively. These data demonstrate that CW FSHE products appear to be well tolerated at recommended doses.
Key Points
| Adverse event data from postmarketing surveillance of full-spectrum hemp extract (FSHE) products were collected for 18 months. |
| FSHE products are well tolerated when taken as indicated. |
| Postmarketing surveillance is a beneficial way to gain real-world data around the safety of products on the market. |
Introduction
Cannabidiol (CBD) is a non-intoxicating cannabinoid found in hemp plants, with reported anticonvulsant, anti-inflammatory, and anxiolytic properties, among others [1–4]. Charlotte’s Web, Inc. (CW) produces a series of ingestible and topical full-spectrum hemp extract (FSHE) products that contain naturally occurring amounts of CBD and other cannabinoids, such as cannabigerol (CBG), cannabichromene (CBC), Δ-9-tetrahydrocannabinol (THC), in addition to terpenes and flavonoids.
CW offers a variety of FSHE products, including oral ingestibles (e.g., gummies and oil-based tinctures) and topicals (e.g., balms, creams, and ointments). The tinctures, which will be relevant to the discussion of serious adverse events, come in varying strengths (17 mg CBD/mL; 60 mg CBD/mL; original formula: 50 mg/mL) and flavors (i.e., lemon twist, orange blossom, olive oil, and mint chocolate). All CW FSHE products are sourced from industrial hemp, grown in compliance with the 2018 Farm Bill [5], and manufactured under Current Good Manufacturing Practice (cGMP) standards for dietary supplements. CW FSHE products contain extract that is manufactured by drying and homogenizing industrial hemp biomass and extracting it in a process involving either CO2 or isopropyl alcohol (IPA). By legal definition, industrial hemp contains no more than 0.3% THC w/w, the intoxicating cannabinoid found in cannabis. To ensure product conformity and consistency, CW tests products during several stages of manufacturing. All finished products are tested for CBD, THC, and minor cannabinoid concentrations, in addition to microbiological, heavy metal, solvent, and pesticide contamination. To ensure product safety and to provide clarity for consumers, the certificate of analysis (COA) for all CW products are readily available on the CW website [6]. Another measure to ensure product safety is the recommended serving suggestions and total daily dosing limits provided for each CW product. While serving suggestions vary, the recommended limit for CW products at the time of data collection was 90 mg of full-spectrum CBD per day.
Despite the growing availability and public interest in products containing full-spectrum hemp extract, there are still many unanswered questions about adverse event frequency and incidence for these products since adverse events (AEs) for FSHE are rarely reported. Postmarketing surveillance is a continuous process of monitoring and passively collecting data on the safety of products after they’ve been released to market. Postmarketing surveillance studies can be a preferred method for gathering and analyzing AE data on a given product or product portfolio due to the sample of consumers being far more diverse and generalizable to the population actually purchasing these products than a clinical trial, which narrows its subject population via inclusion and exclusion criteria. Postmarketing reporting of spontaneous AEs also allows for the identification of less common AEs and real-world safety experience [7]. Furthermore, postmarketing studies allow for larger populations to be analyzed than one could enroll in traditional phase II or III clinical trials. While postmarketing surveillance studies have their limitations, such as a lack of the comparator groups that are present in clinical trials [8, 9], self-reporting of AEs is internationally recognized as a useful tool [10–12].
To the authors’ knowledge, there has been only one other published postmarketing surveillance study examining full-spectrum hemp products. Schmitz and colleagues [13] examined the safety of FSHE products manufactured and distributed by CV Sciences under the brand PlusCBD. Over a 2-year period, approximately 5 million products were sold, and 1429 AEs (0.03%) were reported by 1151 customers, with only 2 AEs being considered serious (SAEs). While this study shows promise for the safety of FSHE products, it is hard to generalize these findings to other products due to potential differences in key factors such as hemp source, format, and dosing. The aim of the current study was to expand upon the limited literature base regarding the safety of FSHE products via evaluation of 18 months of postmarketing surveillance data for CW products.
Methods
Adverse Event Reporting, Recording, and Database
All AEs reported to CW by consumers between January 2019 and July 2020 were reviewed. CW uses the safety reporting approach advocated in the 2006 Dietary Supplement and Nonprescription Drug Consumer Protection Act [14], the 2013 FDA published guidelines of the Adverse Event Reporting and Recordkeeping for Dietary Supplements [15], and the 2006 Federal Food Drug and Cosmetic Act Adverse Event Reporting Law [16]. Under the FDA’s Dietary Supplements Health and Education Act [17], an entity is responsible for determining that the dietary supplements it manufactures or distributes are safe and that any representations or claims made about them are substantiated by adequate evidence to show that they are not false or misleading. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) regulations require mandatory AE reporting, such as listing manufacturer contact information so consumers can report complaints and adverse events. To meet these requirements, CW includes a telephone number and mailing address on all product labels. This telephone number is routed to CW Consumer Services and, if the call is to report an AE, it is forwarded to SafetyCall International.
SafetyCall International (Bloomington, MN, USA) is an academically affiliated healthcare firm that provides postmarketing surveillance support [18]. This safety reporting firm follows industry standards based on the United States Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC), the United States Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), and the FDA reporting requirements. Each call forwarded to SafetyCall is conducted with the intent of capturing relevant information; however, many of these reports are incomplete as consumers either do not know or are unwilling to share all of the queried details. Despite this, all adverse events are documented using the following procedure, which includes up to three phases, in an attempt to gather as much information as possible.
In phase I, a complete narrative describing the product use and reported adverse effect(s) was recorded via written documentation in SafetyCall’s database. During this portion of data collection, the following information was obtained if possible: accurate identification of the product; demographics of the exposed individual (gender, age, weight, general health status prior to exposure); circumstance and time course of the exposure; specific adverse effects experienced; and sufficient symptom characterization to rate symptom severity and medical outcome.
In phase II, trained medical professionals attempted follow-up interviews to collect detailed information related to adverse events. This information included history of exposure to CW products; more details around the event; treatment of the adverse event; and relevant medical history. If a caller did not answer, voicemails were left. Multiple calls were placed as necessary to collect as much detail as possible.
Finally, in phase III, the trained medical professionals assessed any potential association between SAEs and the product(s). In this phase, several pieces of information were considered. First, any temporal relationship between product exposure and reported effects was assessed. Plausibility of the product causing the reported effects, based on pharmacology or toxicology of the product and its ingredients, was evaluated. Alternative causes, differential diagnoses, or other rule-out factors were considered. De-challenging (examining whether withdrawal of product use ameliorated symptoms) and re-challenging (examining whether re-introduction of the product resulted in the same effects) was also taken into account. Accordingly, based on the information gathered, the trained medical professionals used a scoring system to determine the likelihood that product use was correlated with the serious adverse event. This system was developed after considering numerous algorithms to assess for product and adverse event relatedness [18]. This system results in a composite score ranging from 0 to 6, with scores in the 0 to 2 range meaning an unlikely association: an association between a product and the reported effect(s) is considered unlikely or nonexistent. A score of 3 to 4 represents a possible association: an association between the product use and the effect cannot be ruled out but remains ill-defined or questionable. A score of 5 to 6 represents a probable association: an association likely exists between the product exposure and reported effect.
Adverse Event Grading Systems and Serious Adverse Event Definitions
All adverse events were rated using the NCI Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) grading scale (Table 1) [19]. Events rated as Grade 1 or Grade 2 are considered mild or moderate. An event rated as Grade 3 or higher is considered a serious adverse event (SAE). An SAE meets one or more of the following criteria: is medically significant but not life-threatening; leads to persistent disability; leads to hospitalization; is life-threatening; is fatal. If a case meets these criteria, SafetyCall prepares the appropriate MedWatch Form FDA 3500A [20] and then CW submits the MedWatch Form FDA 3500A to the FDA.Grade Definition Grade 1 Mild; asymptomatic or mild symptoms; clinical or diagnostic observations only; intervention not indicated Grade 2 Moderate; minimal, local or noninvasive intervention indicated; limiting age-appropriate instrumental ADL Grade 3 Severe or medically significant but not immediately life-threatening; hospitalization or prolongation of hospitalization indicated; disabling, limiting self-care ADL Grade 4 Life-threatening consequences: urgent intervention indicated Grade 5 Death related to AE
Frequency of Adverse Events
Frequency of AEs was analyzed by (a) comparing total number of consumers who reported AEs to an estimated total number of consumers; and (b) comparing reported AEs to the total number of products sold. The rate of AEs per products sold is based on total product sales, a method which has been utilized previously in surveillance on medical products, insecticides, and dietary supplements [13, 21, 22]. The ratio of individuals who reported AEs per total number of consumers is based on an estimate of the total number of consumers during the defined time period, defined in more detail below. Of note, it is challenging to parse out the exact number of unique consumers who used CW products during the given time period because sales were split between online ‘direct to consumer’ (DTC) and other channels (e.g., bricks and mortar) where purchaser information is not collected.
To address this challenge, the total number of consumers was estimated from a subset of data from DTC sales made via the CW website. This sample was considered representative because the DTC data captures an adequate ratio of both new and returning consumers (66% and 34%, respectively). Approximately 367,000 people purchased 1,080,000 products via the CW website during this 18-month period, implying each consumer purchased approximately three products. Total number of consumers was approximated by dividing the total number of products sold across all channels (retail and DTC) during the 18-month period (i.e., 1,939,172) by the estimate of products sold to each person based upon DTC sales (i.e., 3). Thus, it was estimated that 646,391 individual consumers purchased 1,939,172 CW products across all sales channels during the 18-month period.
Results
In this 18-month postmarketing safety analysis of the FSHE products from CW, all AEs reported between January 1, 2019, and July 31, 2020 were evaluated. A total of 1,939,172 products were sold to approximately 646,391 consumers. Of these 646,391 people, only 304 consumers (0.05%) reported an adverse event. The total number of AEs reported was 431, with some AEs attributable to the same individual. Almost all reported AEs were tied to oral products (421; 97.68%), with ten (2.32%) being related to topical product use. The ten AEs attributed to topicals were reported by eight individuals and two (0.46%) of these AEs were related to accidental oral ingestion. As the incidence of topical AEs was so low and all topical AEs were non-serious, both oral and topical AEs were combined into calculations for rates of occurrence. Based on total products sold, regardless of topical or oral status, AE occurrence was 0.02% and SAE occurrence was 0.0004%. Of the total AEs/SAEs reported, the majority (98.38%) of AEs were classified as non-serious, with 423 categorized as Grade 1 (98.14%) and one event categorized as Grade 2 (0.23%; Table 2). Of the 431 AEs reported, seven adverse events (1.62%) were classified as serious. All seven SAEs were related to oral product use and are summarized below. The system organ class for each of the seven SAEs are as follows: two were considered gastrointestinal disorders, two were nervous system disorders, two were psychiatric disorders, and one was an eye disorder. Importantly, all seven SAEs were considered Grade 3, with none considered Grade 4 or 5 (i.e., life threatening or fatal). See Table 2 for a breakdown of all reported adverse events.System organ class categorization Total: Jan 2019 to July 2020 Grade 1 Grade 2 Grade 3 Grade 4 Grade 5 Gastrointestinal disordersa 100 (23.20) 98d (22.74) 2 (0.46) Nervous system disordersb 93 (21.58) 91d (21.11) 2 (0.46) Psychiatric disordersc 64 (15.85) 63d (14.62) 2 (0.46) Respiratory, thoracic, and mediastinal disorders 37 (8.58) 37 (8.58) General disorders and administration site conditions 34 (7.89) 34d (7.89) Cardiac disorders 23 (5.34) 23 (5.34) Skin and subcutaneous tissue disorders 22 (5.10) 22 (5.10) Immune system disorders 19 (4.41) 17d (4.41) 1 (0.23) Eye disorders 12 (2.78) 11 (2.55) 1 (0.23) Vascular disorders 8 (1.86) 8 (1.86) Ear and labyrinth disorders 4 (0.93) 4 (0.93) Metabolism and nutrition disorders 4 (0.93) 4 (0.93) Blood and lymphatic systems disorders 2 (0.46) 2 (0.46) Endocrine disorders 2 (0.46) 2 (0.46) Musculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders 2 (0.46) 2d (0.46) Renal and urinary disorders 2 (0.46) 2 (0.46) Infections and infestations 1 (0.23) 1 (0.23) Injury, poisoning and procedural complications 1 (0.23) 1 (0.2) Reproductive system and breast disorders 1 (0.23) 1 (0.23) Congenital, familial and genetic disorders Hepatobiliary disorders Investigations Neoplasms benign, malignant, and unspecified (incl. cysts and polyps) Pregnancy, puerperium, and perinatal conditions Social circumstances Surgical and medical procedures
Serious Adverse Events
Gastrointestinal Disorders
A 35-year-old male with a history of treatment-resistant major depressive disorder, social anxiety disorder, panic disorder, general anxiety, upper and lower GI bleeding, pre-diabetes, and childhood asthma had been using CW Hemp Extract, mint chocolate flavor (17 mg/mL) and clonazepam (dose unknown) for anxiety and depression. He increased his dose of hemp extract from 40 mg per day up to a range of 180–320 mg per day. After 45 days of use, he developed agitation, chills, night sweats, insomnia, and loss of appetite. He also developed a fever and then discontinued use of the product. Approximately 8 days after discontinuing the product, he went to the emergency room after experiencing continued fever, headaches, nausea and vomiting (with blood). He was told this may be viral meningitis, but he was not clear about the diagnosis. His symptoms resolved in 10 days after which he saw his primary care physician for follow-up. At that time, his primary care physician noted the symptoms were most likely coincidental to his use of the product but could not fully rule out a possible association. The consumer resumed use of the product approximately 10 months later and again experienced insomnia, agitation, and increased anxiety after 45 days of use. He discontinued use and all symptoms resolved within 10 days. SafetyCall’s independent assessment of this incident resulted in a score of 1, indicating an unlikely association between product use and the reported event.
A 79-year-old female with a history of hypertension, high cholesterol, chronic back pain due to arthritis, and allergy to angiotensin-converting enzyme (ACE) inhibitors began using CW’s Original Formula Hemp Extract, mint chocolate flavor 50 mg/mL at a dose of 25 mg/0.5 mL three to four times daily (75–100 mg total daily) for back pain. She was also taking citalopram, metoprolol, atorvastatin, estrogen cream, and carried an EpiPen as needed. She increased the CW dose (unspecified) without incident and then discontinued product use after her back pain resolved. Within a month, she started using CW’s Max Strength Hemp Extract Oil, mint chocolate flavor 60–100 mg daily for sleep. She developed nausea, vomiting, and diarrhea. She was treated for dehydration and diagnosed with food poisoning in the emergency room (ER). Three nights later, she took another dose (unspecified) and again complained of being sick (no specific symptoms noted). She discontinued use of the Hemp Extract Oil and switched to CW CBD capsule for sleep and again developed nausea, vomiting, and diarrhea. She was again treated for dehydration and then discontinued use of CW products. SafetyCall’s independent assessment of this incident resulted in a score of 5, indicating a probable association between product use and the reported event.
Nervous System Disorders
A 41-year-old female with a history of seizure disorders, seizure auras, and prior brain surgery had been using CW’s Original Formula Hemp Extract, olive oil flavor 50 mg/mL for approximately 5 years for a seizure disorder without incident. She was also taking a desiccated thyroid extract, vitamin D, and an iron supplement. While she was using the CW hemp product, she discontinued her antiseizure medications (levetiracetam in 2018 and clobazam in November 2019). In January 2020, she reported not being able to get the CW dose “quite right” and was experiencing an increase in seizure auras. Due to the prolonged used of CBD without any issue and discontinuation of clobazam just prior to the reported AE, it is unlikely that the product spontaneously increased her seizure auras, although causality is unclear. SafetyCall’s independent assessment of this incident resulted in a score of 1, indicating an unlikely association between product use and the reported event.
An 80-year-old female had been using CW’s Original Formula Hemp Extract Oil, mint chocolate flavor 50 mg/mL for approximately 4 years at 50 mg/mL twice daily (100 mg total daily) for nerve pain. Her medical history was significant for high cholesterol, hypertension, and nerve pain related to shingles. She was taking losartan for hypertension, an unspecified “statin” for high cholesterol, and gabapentin for pain due to shingles. After 4 years without any side effects, she doubled her dose to 200 mg daily per her doctor’s recommendation. Soon after this dose increase (time course not specified), she became lightheaded, confused, had slurred speech, and had trouble focusing with her eyes. She went to the ER and her symptoms subsided within 30 mins. At discharge, her symptoms were attributed to a transient ischemic attack (TIA). Approximately 2 months later, she developed the same symptoms again and returned to the ER. Her symptoms subsided within 30 minutes. She was admitted to the hospital and on discharge was told her symptoms may have been another TIA or a reaction to THC, which she screened positive for during intake. After discharge, she followed up with her primary care physician and underwent several tests to rule out possible causes. All results were normal except the cardiac CT angiogram (no results available). She has discontinued taking the CW product. Her primary care physician concluded that her symptoms may be attributable to the interaction between the gabapentin (unspecified dose) she was taking and THC in the CW product. SafetyCall’s independent assessment of this incident resulted in a score of 1, indicating an unlikely association between product use and the reported event.
Psychiatric Disorders
A 9-year-old female used CW’s Hemp Extract Oil, orange blossom flavor, 17 mg/mL at night and 7 mg/mL during the day for disruptive mood dysregulation disorder (DMDD). Diagnostic criteria for DMDD include severe, recurrent temper outbursts manifested via verbal and/or physical aggression that are out of proportion in intensity or duration to a situation, and persistently irritable or angry mood among other symptoms [29]. Beyond a diagnosis of DMDD, the child’s medical history was also significant for the use of hydroxyzine (10 mg) at bedtime for sleep. The mother of the child reported that a motivating factor to use the CW products was to avoid pharmaceutical medications prescribed to her daughter. It is unknown what pharmaceutical medications the child was taking to treat symptoms of DMDD or if they were abruptly stopped prior to CBD product initiation. On the first night of taking any CW product, the child took the 17-mg product at bedtime, and it was noted that she had difficulty falling asleep. The 17-mg product was not re-administered on following nights. Two days later, the child took the 7-mg product twice throughout the day. During the course of that day, the child became angry, became physically aggressive, and yelled suicidal statements. The child was transported to the ER, and the treating physician concluded that the event was attributable to the child’s DMDD. Notably, DMDD is considered a risk factor for suicidal ideation and behaviors, as dysphoric mood and difficulty regulating emotions are linked with suicidal behaviors [30–32]. SafetyCall’s independent assessment of this incident resulted in a score of 3, indicating a possible association between product use and the reported event.
An 8-year-old female using CW’s Original Formula Hemp Extract Oil, mint chocolate flavor 50 mg/mL for autism spectrum disorder at the recommendation of her neurologist. The child was taking 25 mg/0.5 mL once or twice daily. On the fourth day of product use, the child experienced a seizure (possibly an absence seizure) with staring into space, drooling, eyes rolling back in her head, and being non-responsive at approximately 11:00 a.m. after taking one dose of the product before going to school at 8:00 a.m. While she had no history of seizures prior to this event, the treating physician concluded that the use of the product did not contribute to her symptoms. The product was immediately discontinued, and the child remained asymptomatic. During a follow-up appointment with her neurologist, it was concluded that the product might be related to the event since it was the only noted change in the child’s diet; however, it could not be clearly determined. No alternative causes, diagnoses, or treatments were given. SafetyCall’s independent assessment of this incident resulted in a score of 2, indicating an unlikely association between product use and the reported event.
Eye Disorder
A 73-year-old female was taking a dose of 30 mg/0.5 mL daily of CW’s Hemp Extract Oil, orange blossom flavor 60 mg/mL for arthritis pain. Her medical history was significant for arthritis, hypothyroidism, high cholesterol, and a family history of heart disease. She was taking 100 mg of gabapentin in addition to 81 mg of aspirin three times daily. Three weeks after starting the product, she developed changes in her vision (e.g., shadows, lights, and movement in her field of vision). She discontinued the product and continued having vision problems; however, they improved over the course of 2 months. She began using the product again and did not experience any adverse effects following re-initiation of use. Her ophthalmologist diagnosed her with ischemic optic neuropathy (ION) and stated that there is no known cause for ION. He was unsure if the product played a role in her diagnosis and could not determine the etiology, as is common in cases of this disorder. SafetyCall’s independent assessment of this incident resulted in a score of 2, indicating an unlikely association between product use and the reported event.
Discussion
In the data reviewed between the 18-month period of January 2019 to July 2020, 1,939,172 FSHE products were sold by CW to approximately 646,391 consumers. A total of 431 AEs were reported by 304 unique individuals, with some individuals reporting more than one AE (e.g., headache and nausea). Of these, 421 AEs (97.68%) were attributed to oral product use and 10 (2.32%) were attributed to topical product use, two of which were related to accidental oral ingestion of topical products. Of the 431 AEs, seven (1.62%) were classified as serious, with no AE categorized as a Grade 4 or 5 (i.e., life threatening or fatal). All seven SAEs were reported in the context of oral product use. The estimated percentage of consumers who reported at least one adverse event was 0.05%. The percentage of AEs and SAEs per total products sold was 0.02% and 0.0004%, respectively.
When examining the SAEs in more detail, two were categorized as gastrointestinal disorders, two were categorized as nervous system disorders, two were categorized as psychiatric disorders, and one was categorized as an eye disorder. The strength of association between all seven SAEs and product use was determined quantitatively by SafetyCall. In this assessment, five of the seven SAEs were unlikely to be associated with product use. One SAE was rated as possibly associated with product use and another SAE was rated as probably associated with product use.
Qualitative review of the SAEs revealed that two of seven SAEs occurred in the context of higher doses of FSHE products with one of the two being attributed to a possible drug interaction between a pharmaceutical medication and the trace amounts of THC found in FSHE products. Of note, many of the consumers reporting SAEs had complex medical histories and were taking multiple medications in combination with the FSHE products, which increases the potential for adverse reactions [25]. For example, multiple of the SAEs reported herein may be related to concurrent use of FSHE products and medications with known drug interactions, such as clonazepam and citalopram [25]. In one event, an 80-year-old woman was taking higher than recommend doses of the product, leading to the potential ingestion of up to 8 mg of THC, which is known to interact with gabapentin, a medication she was taking at the same time [27, 28]. The use of medications with known contraindications is especially important to consider when the SAEs reported are not consistent with adverse events typically associated with CBD or cannabinoid use [23–26]. In another example in which complex medical histories and potential medication interactions can be taken into consideration, a consumer with a significant medical history who was also taking gabapentin experienced an eye disorder. There is currently no evidence to support that cannabinoids interfere with the transmission of visual information from the retina [33, 34]. Moreover, one review suggests potential neuroprotective effects of cannabinoids concerning the pathophysiology of retinal ischemia [33]. In sum, all of these consumers had increased risk of experiencing an adverse event due to their medical history, concurrent medication use, or the use of FSHE products at higher than recommended doses. This is important information for the general public which underscores the importance of consulting a medical professional when adding FSHE products into a complex regimen of medications or for someone with a significant medical history.
This is the first attempt at reporting adverse events related to CW FSHE products. Unlike prescription medication or other products which are tied directly to specific consumers, consumption of dietary supplements is not. Products may be purchased and unused, purchased and shared by multiple people, or one consumer may use multiple products. This study addressed this issue by utilizing a calculation to estimate the total individuals who purchased CW products during the 18-month period. This calculation used DTC data on number of products sold and number of unique DTC purchasers to extrapolate a total number of products sold per person. While this approach was novel, with such large numbers (367,000 people purchased 1.08 million products directly from CW), it can be assumed that these consumers are representative of the larger consumer base that bought CW products across all channels (e.g., bricks and mortar retail). This calculation strategy is supported by research indicating that online and in-store shoppers are similar in their motivations and characteristics [35]. Further, this study also included the approach of measuring AEs based on products sold. This method is commonly used in postmarketing surveillance studies [22] and has been utilized by another study that examined the safety of other FSHE products [13]. While these methods for determining approximate number of consumers have been utilized in other studies and it can be assumed that the DTC purchasers are indeed representative of the larger consumer base, it should still be noted that these conclusions are based on estimations. A full-scale clinical trial would need to be conducted in order to arrive at the most accurate percentages of AEs to consumers and products purchased. This is outside the scope of this study, which was conducted in the context of postmarketing surveillance.
A limitation to this dataset, and many postmarketing surveillance studies, is the lack of certain details which would make AE reporting more accurate (e.g., reason for product use, other medication use, dosage). As observed in the SAEs reported above, consumers do not always capture their doses accurately or at all. There are also other potential confounding factors which were not reported or reported with missing details that complicate the ability to determine causality (e.g., underlying medical conditions, concomitant use of prescription medications or other dietary supplements, dietary changes, life stressors).
Additionally, a limitation to the methodology broadly is the use of self-report for adverse events as opposed to clinician-reported AEs. Self-reported AEs are known to have distinct issues. Under-reporting is a common limitation when relying on consumer self-report [7, 35]. Consumers may not report AEs due to a lack of awareness and recognition of what constitutes an AE, or they may incorrectly recall details surrounding the events [36–38]. Despite these inherent limitations, consumer self-reported AEs are seen as complementary to clinician-reported AEs, and it is considered valuable to collect both types of reports to capture potential safety issues [10, 11].
A final limitation to this study is the lack of a gold standard in assessing adverse event causality in the context of dietary supplement use. When examining the causality of an AE in the context of pharmaceuticals, certain methods are employed to help with standardization, such as the Naranjo algorithm [39]. No such standardization exists for evaluating dietary supplements and thus, the association assessment by SafetyCall was utilized for this publication. Future research should explore methods of adapting existing assessments from the pharmaceutical industry to apply to dietary supplements to reduce potential bias and increase replicability of results.
Despite the limitations to the dataset and the drawbacks related to self-reporting, postmarketing surveillance data and consumer participation in monitoring adverse events are important pieces to the puzzle of tracking product safety. The merits of self-reporting AEs are relied upon internationally, as both the European Medicines Agency and the United States Food and Drug Administration have encouraged consumers to report suspected AEs through their reporting databases [38, 40]. This shift in valuing self-reported AEs has produced tangible results, as consumer reports have led to labelling changes and drug withdrawals from the market [41, 42]. Overall, this movement supports the idea of consumers as “vigilant partners” in their own care, as they have the ability to decrease the risk of commercially available products [12, 43].
Conclusions
These data fill a gap in the paucity of information on the frequency of AEs for the commercial use of FSHE and, despite the limitations of postmarketing surveillance data, provide an approximation of the frequency of AEs and SAEs of FSHE products from Charlotte’s Web. This report supports the safety of FSHE products based on real-world evidence and consumer self-reporting.
Importantly, the conclusions in this report apply exclusively to CW products. Prudence should be observed in extrapolating these data to other FSHE products, as variations in format, hemp source, dose, and other factors may affect absorption rate, exposure, and safety profiles. While direct comparison of FSHE products should be done with caution, this report aligns with previously published postmarketing surveillance data for FSHE products which reported overall AE occurrence at 0.03% [13], further indicating the safety of FSHE. As FSHE products become more widely used, CBD companies should carefully monitor the safety profile of their products through ongoing postmarketing surveillance and disseminate their findings to medical providers, researchers, and the general public.
Acknowledgements
We would like to thank Charlotte's Web for providing the adverse event data, sales data, and GMPs/SOPs background to write this manuscript. We would like to thank Jeffery Lombardo, PharmD and Jen Palmer, ND for their help in reviewing the manuscript. In addition, our thanks to SafetyCall for providing the adverse event data for this manuscript.
Declarations
Ethical Approval
This analysis was conducted according to the principles of the Declaration of Helsinki. Retrospective observational studies do not involve interventions, and no interventions were involved in this consumer base. There were also no risks involved in this analysis. Precautions were taken to protect the consumers’ privacy and confidentiality. No active or additional interventions were performed. Respect for autonomy was observed at all times.
Consent to Participate and to Publish
All consumers that underwent evaluation with a phone call agreed to participation.
Competing Interests
IZ is an employee of Charlotte’s Web. She did not participate in the data collection or analysis and only assisted with editing this manuscript. Charlotte’s Web paid the publication fee.
Data Availability Statement
The data presented in this study are available upon request from the corresponding author.
Code Availability
Not applicable.
Funding
All support for this study was provided by Charlotte’s Web. This research received no external funding.