https://doi.org/10.1002/14651858.CD010216.pub11
The material in this section has been supplied by the author(s) for publication under a Licence for Publication and the author(s) are solely responsible for the material. Cochrane has reviewed this material, but Cochrane has not copyedited, formatted or proofread. Cochrane accordingly gives no representations or warranties of any kind in relation to, and accepts no liability for any reliance on or use of, such material.
|
Study ID |
Intervention/ comparator |
Time point |
Data |
Between-group difference[1] (↑ higher in EC/higher dose EC arm; ↔ equivocal; ↓ lower in EC/higher dose arm) |
|
Cravo 2016* |
Nicotine EC versus combustible cigarettes |
2 weeks |
“At baseline, eCO was at 20.3 ppm (±8.4) in EVP subjects and at 21.3 ppm (±9.2) in CC subjects. In the EVP group, eCO levels dropped to 7.4 ppm at Week 1 and were between 7.6 and 9.0 ppm from Week 2 to EoS (eCO levels in non-smokers are typically ≤6 ppm (Bedfront, 2016)). In the CC group, eCO remained at levels close to baseline during the whole study (21.3–23.3 ppm).” |
↓ |
|
Czoli 2019 |
Nicotine EC v combustible cigarette |
1 week |
Compared to baseline (dual use): EC -41% Traditional cigarette +21% |
↓ |
|
Eisenhofer 2015 |
Nicotine EC v NRT |
3 weeks |
Both EC and NRT groups had "significantly reduced" CO. Between-group differences were not reported. |
NE |
|
George 2019 |
Nicotine EC v non-nicotine EC v combustible cigarettes |
4 weeks |
CO measured, but not reported in detail. Lowest tertile of CO at end of study was in those with “best compliance with EC and least dual use” |
NE |
|
Meier 2017 |
Nicotine EC v non-nicotine EC |
1 week |
Randomized crossover trial. eCO: Naturalistic (whilst smoking, no EC) mean 11.4 (SE 1.3), Nicotine EC 11.6 (SE 1.3), Non-nicotine EC 10.2 (SE 1.3) |
↑ |
|
NCT03113136 |
EC v combustible cigarettes |
4 and 12 weeks |
“At 4 and 12 weeks, the CO levels were reduced in dual users of combustible tobacco and e-cigarettes (LWe or HWe), compared to exclusive combustible tobacco users.” |
↓ |
|
Tseng 2016 |
Nicotine EC v non-nicotine EC |
1 and 3 weeks |
No between-group difference in eCO was observed at any time point, no further data available |
↔ |
|
Walker 2020 |
Nicotine EC + NRT v non-nicotine EC + NRT v NRT only |
6 months |
20% nicotine EC arm; 10% non-nicotine EC arm; 4% NRT only arm had eCO < 8ppm at follow-up |
↓ |
|
Yingst 2020 |
Nicotine EC (36 mg/ml; refillable) versus nicotine EC (24 mg/ml; cig-a-like) |
1 week |
N = 17 “CO significantly decreased from baseline during the button-operated ENDS use period from 24.1 ppm (SD = 12.2) to 18.4 ppm (SD = 13.8) (p = .03), but did not significantly decrease during the cigalike use period (22.4 ppm (SD = 12.8) vs. 18.1 ppm (SD = 13.8) (p = .07)). Total CO reduction was not different between ENDS devices (p= .75).” |
↔ |
[1] NE: not estimable